Star Facts
  • Category Special

    Address 6200 Hollywood Blvd

    Ceremony date 07/20/1973

Death Date:
Addition Websites

In the early 1970s, the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce honored the Apollo XI mission and the U.S. astronauts who landed on the moon on July 20, 1969 with a uniquely-designed special award in the category of Television as a tribute to the first televised Walk on the Moon.

On the four sidewalk corners at the intersection of Hollywood and Vine, four similar commemorative dedications mark the Apollo XI Mission within moon-like circular plaques. Each plaque contains the names of Commander Neil A. Armstrong, Lunar Module Pilot Edwin E. Aldrin Jr., Command Module Pilot Michael Collins – the astronauts who were aboard the spaceflight that landed the first two people who walked on the Moon. The circular plaques include the date of the first Moon landing 7/20/69, and name of the mission Apollo XI. On the plaques, the moons are in silver and grey terrazzo circles rimmed in brass on a square pink terrazzo background, with the television emblem inlaid at the top of each circle.

Apollo 11 astronauts Armstrong and Buzz Aldrin walked on the moon in 1969, and Michael Collins orbited above the moon. “The telecast from the moon was the single most-important live TV broadcast ever!” said Ana Martinez, Producer of the Hollywood Walk of Fame. “The bronze markers were set in all four corners of the intersection within the terrazzo sidewalks to represent their reach to the four corners of the world,” Martinez said.

They had accomplished what no one else had ever done, ad Armstrong spoke to NASA in Texas, stating, “Houston, Tranquilitybase here. The Eagle has landed.” Hours later, as hundreds of millions of TV viewers watched around the globe, Armstrong stepped his foot on the moon and uttered these famous words, “That’s one small step for man, one giant leap for mankind.” When Aldrin stepped down the ladder, he exclaimed, “Magnificent destination.” Collins’ important job kept him in lunar orbit aboard the command module Columbia. He was not able to join the moonwalkers who made U.S. citizens feel a patriotic swell as they spiked an American flag into the Moon’s dusty surface. Then, they read these words off a plaque mounted on the Eagle: “Here men from the planet Earth first step foot upon the Moon, July, 1969 A.D. We came in peace for all mankind.” The Eagle would not return to Earth, it had found a permanent new home in a very exclusive neighborhood, on the Sea of Tranquility.

This was the single most important live TV broadcast ever! So many people watched this event, that the streets throughout the entire country were empty – and it was quiet elsewhere in the world. This was the longest continuous live TV coverage in history which lasted for 31 hours.

The moon on the northwest corner is flanked by the Walk of Fame stars of Carl Laemmle, Jo Stafford, Marilyn Miller, and Artie Shaw. The moon on the northeast corner is flanked by the Walk of Fame stars of James Stewart, Edward R. Murrow, Wendy Barrie, and Kirk Douglas. The moon on the southeast corner is flanked by the Walk of Fame stars of Maria Callas, Gladys Swarthout, Donald O’Connor, and Julius La Rosa. The moon on the southwest corner is flanked by the Walk of Fame stars of Constance Talmadge, Blanche Thebom, Hank Mann, and Rex Ingram.

On July 20, 1999, these awards were rededicated in the honor of the 30th anniversary of landing on the moon and the famous lunar walk!

amzn_assoc_placement = "adunit0";amzn_assoc_search_bar = "true";amzn_assoc_tracking_id = "hwof05-20";amzn_assoc_search_bar_position = "bottom";amzn_assoc_ad_mode = "search";amzn_assoc_ad_type = "smart";amzn_assoc_marketplace = "amazon";amzn_assoc_region = "US";amzn_assoc_title = "Shop Special Apollo XI";amzn_assoc_default_search_phrase = "Special Apollo XI";amzn_assoc_default_category = "All";amzn_assoc_linkid = "a417e711672e5f281d8fdc2a70814473";